LibGuides: Sing It!: Choral Reference

Locating Info About Choral Music

Music Index (1949-1980, 1998-1999).
REF ML 118 .M84 (3rd floor)

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains 10.4 million articles covering drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
With 50 million pages digitized, and an additional 3 million pages added each year, JSTOR includes more than 2,000 academic journals, plus thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Portal for Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music.
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. RILM provides a broad, international coverage and concise abstracts. All scholarly works are indexed (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are indexed if they are of scholarly interest.

Areas of coverage encompass historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics.

Choral Translations

The Complete Church and Secular Cantatas /Johann Sebastian Bach; trans. by Richard Stokes
ML 53.8 .B3 C3613 2000

Choral-Orchestral Literature

The Choral-Orchestral Works of Hector Berlioz / Metche Franke Alexander.
ML 410 .B5 A8 1978a

A Conductor's Guide to Nineteenth-Century Choral-Orchestral Works / Jonathan D. Green.
ML 128 .C48 G73 2008

Directory of Choral-Orchestral Music / Michael Rosewall.
ML 128 .C48 R67 2007

Conducting Beethoven / Norman Del Mar.
MT 85 .D336 1992

Handbook on Conducting and Orchestral Routine for the Prospective Conductor of Either Chorus or Orchestra / Frank E. Kendrie
MT 85 .K4

General Choral Research

A Checklist of Twentieth-Century Choral Music for Male Voices / Kenneth Creighton Roberts.
ML 128 .V7 R6

Choral Music by African-American Composers: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography / Evelyn Davidson White.
REF ML 128 .C48 W5 1996 (3rd floor)

Choral Music for Women's Voices: An Annotated Bibliography of Recommended Works / Charles C. Burnsworth.
REF ML 128 .V7 B87 (3rd floor)

Sacred Choral Repertoire

Bibliography of Theses and Dissertations in Sacred Music / Kenneth R. Hartley
ML 128 .S2 H4

Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order / James Laster.
OVERSIZE ML 128 .C54 L4 1983

The Choirmaster's Guide: Lists of Anthems, Solos, Services, Cantatas, Classified and Tested / Harold W. Thompson
ML 128 .V7 T45

Church Music: An International Bibliography / Richard C. Von Ende.
REF ML 128 .C54 V66 (3rd floor)

English Church Music: A Bibliography / Paul Yeats-Edwards
REF ML 128 .C54 Y4 (3rd floor)

K-12 & Collegiate Repertoire

The High School Vocal Music Program / Wayne R. Jipson
MT3 .U5 J56

Teaching Suggestions and Piano Accompaniments: Singing on our Way / Lilla Belle Pitts
MT935 .P5915,Gr.3T.S

Twentieth-Century Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Music Suitable for Use by High School Choirs / J. Perry White.
ML 128 .C48 W53 1990

American Choral Literature

American Choral Music Since 1920: An Annotated Guide / David P. DeVenney.
ML 128 .C58 D45 1993

American Oratorios and Cantatas: A Catalog of Works Written in the United States from Colonial Times to 1985 / Thurston J. Dox (2 volumes)
ML 128 .O45 D7 1986

The American Psalter: The Psalms and Canticles According to the Use of the Protestant Episcopal Church
Maag Scores M 2169 .P96 P78 (3rd floor)